Gordon & Gordon Attorneys at Law P.L.L.C.                                                                          Cottonwood  (928)  649-8609
                                                                                                                                                                              
Prescott (928)  717-4447
                                                                                                                                                                              Flagstaff (928)  214-8610
                                                                                                                                

Criminal Law

Why You Need an Arizona Criminal Defense Attorney

The reasons you will need the help of an Arizona criminal defense lawyer when you are charged with a crime are nearly limitless in number.  In regards to the classification of the crime, an experienced criminal defense attorney may be able to negotiate a charge that’s a felony down to a misdemeanor, which clearly subjects the defendant to much shorter periods of incarceration.

If a plea bargain is not reached and a trial is completed, a criminal defense attorney will also be able to present the best possible case for you as it relates to the sentence that the judge ultimately hands down.  There is room for discretion with judges, and a skilled attorney will be able to present all of the relevant evidence that could be of aid to you in regards to that decision.  In essence, a conviction could ultimately include time served that’s commensurate with a class 3 felony as opposed to a class 2 felony, and every day not spent incarcerated is an enormous benefit.

Ultimately, you need help if you have been charged with a crime in Arizona. Gordon & Gordon, PLLC, Attorneys at Law will be able to meet with you at your location.  You may also be able to work out a fair and reasonable payment plan with the firm, as money should not be a reason to have to give up your legal rights and protections.  Contact the firm today to schedule an initial consultation at (928) 649-8609.

Best attorney, cottonwood attorney, cottonwood lawyer, prescott attorney, bankruptcy, attorney, bankruptcy lawyer, cottonwood lawyer, family law, dui, drunk driving, chapter 7, chapter 13, sedona attorney, criminal attorney, child custody, wills, estate planning, sedona lawyer, cottonwood attorney, criminal attorney



Felonies in Arizona


Felonies are more serious than misdemeanors.  Below are the classifications and potential presumptive sentences for each type of felony in Arizona:

  • Class 1 felony:  25 years to life in prison, and the death penalty is possible in cases of first degree murder
  • Class 2 felony:  5 years
  • Class 3 felony:  3.5 years
  • Class 4 felony:  2.5 years
  • Class 5 felony:  1.5 years
  • Class 6 felony:  1 year

Obviously, there is discretion available to the judge at sentencing, but the terms in prison listed above represent the presumptive sentence, or that which is generally assigned upon a conviction.  In addition to the long periods of incarceration, a defendant convicted of a felony will serve his or her time in a state prison as opposed to a local jail.  The periods of imprisonment listed above represent the possible punishments for a first-time offender, and these sentences can be more severe for those who have a previous conviction on their records.

Misdemeanors in Arizona
Misdemeanors are generally less severe than felonies in Arizona, and like felonies, Arizona has a number-based system designed to describe the severity of the crime alleged.  Below are those classifications and the potential periods of incarceration for each:
              Class 1 misdemeanor:  6 months   
Class 2 misdemeanor:  4 months
Class 3 misdemeanor:  30 days

Fines can also be imposed upon conviction of a misdemeanor, and the amounts involved will depend upon the facts of the case and the criminal record of the convicted defendant.


Felony and Misdemeanor Charges in Arizona

When someone is charged with a crime in Arizona, that crime is classified as either a felony or a misdemeanor.  While these classifications may seem relatively minor compared to the ultimate result of any case, the truth is that such a classification could make all the difference in what ultimately happens if the defendant is convicted.

Below is an overview of  the differences between felonies and misdemeanors in Arizona, and if you have been charged with a crime, you need to contact the criminal defense lawyers at Gordon & Gordon as soon as possible to schedule an initial consultation.  The firm can offer payment plans in many situations, so money should not be a reason to forgo your right to a skilled criminal defense attorney.

 DUI


DUI Penalties Class One Misdemeanor

Minimum Sentence

Maximum Sentence

1 to 10 Days Jail 
Alcohol Screening and Counseling
$250 Fine Plus Surcharges
$500 Prison Construction Fee
90 Days to a 1 year Suspension of Drivers License
*Ignition interlock device

6 Months Jail
Alcohol Screening and Counseling
$2500 Fine Plus Surcharges
$500 Prison Construction Fee
90 Days to a 1 year Suspension of Drivers License
*Ignition interlock device


Extreme DUI Penalties Class One Misdemeanor

Minimum Sentence

Maximum Sentence

10 to 30 Days Jail 
Alcohol Screening and Counseling 
$250 Fine Plus Surcharges
$250 DUI Abatement Fee
$1000 Prison Construction Fee
90 Days to a 1 year Suspension of Drivers License
*Ignition interlock device

6 Months Jail
Alcohol Screening and Counseling
$2500 Fine Plus Surcharges
$250 DUI Abatement Fee
$1000 Prison Construction Fee
90 Days to a 1 year Suspension of Drivers License
*Ignition interlock device


Second Conviction DUI Penalties - Class One Misdemeanor 
If convicted within 7 years of first DUI

Minimum Sentence

Maximum Sentence

30 to 90 Days Jail 
Alcohol Screening and Counseling 
$500 Fine Plus Surcharges
$1250 Prison Construction Fee
1 year Revocation of Drivers License
*Ignition interlock device

6 Months Jail
Alcohol Screening and Counseling
$2500 Fine Plus Surcharges
$1250 Prison Construction Fee
1 year Revocation of Drivers License 
*Ignition interlock device


Second Conviction Extreme DUI Penalties Class One Misdemeanor 
If convicted within 7 years of first DUI/DWI

Minimum Sentence

Maximum Sentence

60 to 120 Days Jail 
Alcohol Screening and Counseling
$500 Fine Plus Surcharges
$250 Abatement Fee
$1250 Prison Construction Fee
1 year Revocation of Drivers License
*Ignition interlock device

6 Months Jail
Alcohol Screening and Counseling
$2500 Fine Plus Surcharges
$250 Abatement Fee
$1250 Prison Construction Fee
1 year Revocation of Drivers License
*Ignition interlock device

*Ignition Interlock - The installation of an ignition interlock device is mandatory for repeat offense and extreme DUI convictions in Arizona. To start your car you must blow into the device. If the ignition interlock device registers alcohol on your breath, your lights will flash, your horn will honk and your car will not start. Many models require you to hum while blowing so that the machine can determine if someone else is blowing into the device. In this scenario, the machine will not work and your car will car will not start.

        






Why You Need an Arizona Criminal Defense Attorney

The reasons you will need the help of an Arizona criminal defense lawyer when you are charged with a crime are nearly limitless in number.  In regards to the classification of the crime, an experienced criminal defense attorney may be able to negotiate a charge that’s a felony down to a misdemeanor, which clearly subjects the defendant to much shorter periods of incarceration.

If a plea bargain is not reached and a trial is completed, a criminal defense attorney will also be able to present the best possible case for you as it relates to the sentence that the judge ultimately hands down.  There is room for discretion with judges, and a skilled attorney will be able to present all of the relevant evidence that could be of aid to you in regards to that decision.  In essence, a conviction could ultimately include time served that’s commensurate with a class 3 felony as opposed to a class 2 felony, and every day not spent incarcerated is an enormous benefit.

Ultimately, you need help if you’ve been charged with a crime in Arizona. Gordon & Gordon, PLLC, Attorneys at Law will be able to meet with you at your location.  You may also be able to work out a fair and reasonable payment plan with the firm, as money should not be a reason to have to give up your legal rights and protections.  Contact the firm today to schedule an initial consultation at (928) 649-8609.


DUI



DUI Penalties Class One Misdemeanor

Minimum Sentence

Maximum Sentence

1 to 10 Days Jail 
Alcohol Screening and Counseling
$250 Fine Plus Surcharges
$500 Prison Construction Fee
90 Days to a 1 year Suspension of Drivers License
*Ignition interlock device

6 Months Jail
Alcohol Screening and Counseling
$2500 Fine Plus Surcharges
$500 Prison Construction Fee
90 Days to a 1 year Suspension of Drivers License
*Ignition interlock device


Extreme DUI Penalties Class One Misdemeanor

Minimum Sentence

Maximum Sentence

10 to 30 Days Jail 
Alcohol Screening and Counseling 
$250 Fine Plus Surcharges
$250 DUI Abatement Fee
$1000 Prison Construction Fee
90 Days to a 1 year Suspension of Drivers License
*Ignition interlock device

6 Months Jail
Alcohol Screening and Counseling
$2500 Fine Plus Surcharges
$250 DUI Abatement Fee
$1000 Prison Construction Fee
90 Days to a 1 year Suspension of Drivers License
*Ignition interlock device


Second Conviction DUI Penalties - Class One Misdemeanor 
If convicted within 7 years of first DUI

Minimum Sentence

Maximum Sentence

30 to 90 Days Jail 
Alcohol Screening and Counseling 
$500 Fine Plus Surcharges
$1250 Prison Construction Fee
1 year Revocation of Drivers License
*Ignition interlock device

6 Months Jail
Alcohol Screening and Counseling
$2500 Fine Plus Surcharges
$1250 Prison Construction Fee
1 year Revocation of Drivers License 
*Ignition interlock device


Second Conviction Extreme DUI Penalties Class One Misdemeanor 
If convicted within 7 years of first DUI/DWI

Minimum Sentence